In Minnesota, drivers must obey traffic laws at all times. The state enforces drunk driving laws to lower the chances of an accident resulting in a fatality. Drivers who are under the influence cannot react quickly enough to avoid an accident and increase the risks for other drivers. The impairment increases the potential for serious injuries in an accident. A DUI Lawyer in Mankato MN provides a defense case for drivers who are accused of the criminal offense.
What Legal Limits Apply to Drivers?
Currently, drivers who are at least twenty-one years old are guilty of a DUI with a blood-alcohol content reading of at least 0.08 percent. All commercial truck drivers are guilty if their blood-alcohol content reading is at least 0.04 percent. Drivers under the age of twenty-one are guilty with any blood-alcohol content reading.
What are the Criminal Penalties for DUI Charges?
Standard DUI charges for drivers with a blood-alcohol content reading of less than 0.16 percent incur a jail sentence of no more than ninety days in jail. The fine for the offense is $1,000. If the blood-alcohol content reading is over 0.16 percent, the offense is considered an aggravated DUI. The penalty for an aggravated DUI is a maximum of one year in jail. The fine for the offense is $3,000.
What is the Penalty for Refusing to Submit to Testing?
The driver faces one year in county lockup if they refuse to submit to chemical testing. The fine for the offense is $3,000. The penalties are assigned in addition to the standard penalty if the driver is convicted of the DUI.
What are the Penalties for Drivers Under Twenty-One?
The penalty for underage drivers convicted of a DUI starts with a $700 fine. The driver could spend up to one year in the county jail. The driver’s license is suspended based on the judge’s determination. If the blood-alcohol content reading is greater than 0.16 percent, the underage driver faces a fine of $3,000 and one year in jail.
In Minnesota, drivers who are arrested for a DUI must have a blood-alcohol content reading of 0.08 percent. The testing device must present accurate results to secure a conviction. Drivers who are facing the offense contact a DUI Lawyer in Mankato MN directly or visit Blatzlawminnesota.com for an appointment today.